So What Do You Think?

There are times when I seem to drift and feel disconnected from everything and everyone.  This usually happens when I am not being authentic and trying to be something I am not.  When I search for meaning, understanding, connections or answers from outside of myself, I go wanting.  All that I need is in me.  The idea of God is inside every man, woman and child (AA Big Book reference there), so there is no need to look elsewhere.

This morning I woke up in a very good mood.  The committee in my head was relatively quiet so my morning prayer and meditation time was peaceful, allowing me to make a good connection.  The day was strolling along as I had a song in my head and a good feeling in my heart.  Then I started thinking about a decision that I have pending.  A pretty big one by most standards, which could, and probably will make a dramatic shift in my life.  So the worry and fear started taking over.

It’s not that I can’t make the decision. I know that in conversation with God and some practical assessment, I can come up with the right answer for me.  The challenge started to happen when I started considering what everyone else will think of my decision.  Silly things raced through my mind, like what will others think if I don’t have the same title with this new opportunity, or make the same amount of money, or have the freedom as I do now?  The truth is who cares what others think.  I need to do what’s right for me.  Not what I think other’s believe is right for me.

It’s easy for me to forget that I need to live the life that God has blessed me with; utilizing the unique skills and personality that He saw fit when creating me as a unique individual.  I don’t have to think, act, believe or live like anyone else that I know.  I just have to live the life that I know…mine.

Today I will live MY life!!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to So What Do You Think?

  1. Chrissy says:

    Wow, what a great post. Thank you for putting out there what many of us feel when faced with a decision but don't care to admit. You're right. We all worry about what other people will think or say, but that shouldn't matter. Thank you for sharing.

Leave a Reply

