Opportunity Knocks

Accepting things as they are sounds like a simple enough concept but when trying to practice it, especially when things aren’t going the way I envision them, it can be a challenge.

When things are going my way, it’s easy to accept things as they are. When the promotion comes, the plans for an evening out just fall into place, the grocery store checkout lane moves swiftly, my willingness to accept soars. But when the boss is not agreeing with my decisions, traffic is at a standstill and I have somewhere to be or the opportunity I just knew was right for me doesn’t pan out, then, when I need it most, acceptance seems to be a fleeting concept.

I have been learning to trust God for my care and direction. Even when I don’t see where the path is leading, and there seems to be a perfectly good one in my line of vision, if it isn’t a part of God’s will, I need to trust that and accept. All too often I get ahead of myself and start projecting my will onto what I perceive is God’s will because it feels oh so right. I don’t think there’s anything wrong with trusting your gut level instinct and feel on certain things, but when I turn them into expectations, the waters get pretty murky. And usually the outcome is disappointment, confusion and resentment.

I continually have to remind myself that acceptance does not mean agreement. I can accept a person, place or thing exactly as it is and still not agree with it. So often in my life when I think I know what’s best for me, and it turns out that God has other plans, the results are far beyond what I could have imagined. So just for today, I won’t limit myself by my own will, and allow God’s will to continue to amaze and surprise me.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Opportunity Knocks

  1. Debe Knaack says:

    Thank You. I needed that. The timing is great!
    I found the following prayer as I was searching for “time killers” as I prepare to wait while the staff tests and plays games with my heart and “pacer” tomorrow.

    “May today there be peace within. May you trust God that you are exactly where you are meant to be. May you not forget the infinite posibilities that are born of faith. May you use those gifts that you have received, and pass on the love that has been given to you. May you be content knowing you are a child of God. Let this Presence settle into your bones, and allow your soul the freedom to sing, dance, praise and love. It is there for each and every one of us”. – Theresa of Avila:

    As I was reading I had a very strong thought, The Serenity Prayer. “It works if you work it!”

Leave a Reply

