To Just Be

So often in life the only action to take is no action at all, just to be patient, wait, and be in acceptance of what is to come. This is one of the most challenging things for me to do. I am a do-er, constantly in motion looking to fix, help, manipulate, coerce, dive in or generally DO something at all times. Recently I have learned that to lead effectively, and allow others to learn to lead as well, requires a tremendous amount of patience, and willingness to accept.

With recent back issues, I was forced to rest, take it easy, and thanks to the perspective of a good friend, actually able to enjoy doing so. It’s rare that I allow myself to just BE, and not have to DO anything. Yet this is not a new lesson for me, I’ve been working on it for some time now. Adding an afternoon meditation session has taught me the value of slowing everything down on the outside, and allowing the Spirit to speak to me on the inside. It has yielded great results. Yet I continue to fall victim to old habits, constantly needing reminders that to take no action, and just allow, is an action in and of itself.

I do a fair amount of volunteer work and naturally end up in leadership roles in most. The ability to learn from others who have lead such organizations before, and open myself up to admitting that I don’t know how to do something and remaining teachable, has been a blessing. When working with others, to lead effectively I have to allow them to take charge, to empower and then allow them to do their work. It may not be the way I would do it, but that’s ok. I can be there for support, but must not meddle in their affairs. It has taught me a level of patience I never knew I had the power to express. And it is something I am now trying to carry into every aspect of my life.

Today I will observe, but not act, unless absolutely necessary.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

