And Acceptance is the Key

“And acceptance is the key to all my problems…” Alcoholics Anonymous

To truly accept any situation is to completely surrender judgment of it and simply be ok with how it is and know that it is perfect just as it is. This can be challenging when trying to understand what seems like senseless violence, whether towards others or oneself.

In The Daily Love the past few days, Mastin Kipp talks about his overwhelming sadness at the loss of two of his friends who recently took their own lives. This must be a painful and tragic experience for him, but what I don’t understand is why he thinks he could have ‘done something’ or ‘said something’ to make a difference in their decision.

If we are to accept situations as they are, then there are lessons to be learned in each situation. Maybe not so much a lesson of what we could have done, but lessons on how to live moving forward. To try and believe we can determine the outcome of events, or could have changed events by our actions is to play God. And that is just plain wrong.

Now I know some of you who faithfully read my blog will disagree with me, and that’s fine. Actually, it’s better than fine. People expressing diverse points of view are what make this existence and journey so bountiful in colors, shapes and sizes. A cornucopia of beliefs that make up such a wonderful fabric we call our life here on earth.

And now to stoke that fire just a little bit more, I am going to make an exception and comment on a current political event. Gun violence is more media aware than ever before. There isn’t more gun violence than there was 10 years ago; it’s just getting more media attention than ever before. I believe in the second amendment, and that individuals should have the right to own a firearm. But I also believe there needs to be some regulation.

There are some common sense rules that are in place right now that are very personal to me. When I was 22 years old, I was in a very dark space. My life didn’t seem to have any meaning and I really didn’t want to continue. I went to a gun shop, picked out a gun with the intention of using it to end my life. The seven day waiting period that was mandatory before purchase saved my life. I reached out to a friend during that time and was on my way to a more healthy perspective on life. I wouldn’t be here today if it weren’t for that waiting period.

Today I am grateful that I can accept what is, and know that God has a plan; but also that I can express my beliefs and give love to those that are struggling with some of the most volatile political decisions of our day. If we all learned to listen a little more with our hearts, and responded rather than react to situations in our lives, it would be a much better world to live in.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to And Acceptance is the Key

  1. Debe Knaack says:

    Completely surrender….The Serenity Prayer. “It is what it is”…The Serenity Prayer!!
    Mastin is having a normal reaction to a loved one committing suicide. Being “in service” and not able to see & help a loved one cope with their pain, makes “woulda, coulda, shoulda” a constant devastation for everyone associated with the person. (Been there done that!)
    I agree there is more gun violence reported than there was 10 years ago. The US population in 2002 was 123,188,000, in 2012, 314,016,000.
    “Guns don’t kill people. PEOPLE kill people!!” And we have numerous people that aren’t getting their “Meds” due to funding cuts. “When guns are outlawed, only outlaws will have guns.”
    I’m grateful that your suicide was foiled, because you grew into a “Fluffy” that the world needs more of!!
    The seven day waiting period didn’t save your life. You, God and your friend saved your life.
    My Mother-in-law waited for clearance before bringing the gun home & still shot herself. My nephew “slit his wrists”, and had been in numerous “help programs”! (It took him 3 attempts to accomplish it and was in a help program after each attempt.)
    So now I will put your failed suicide as another entry on “My Gratitude List”!!

Leave a Reply

