Two Ears

Wisdom is the reward you get for a lifetime of listening when you’d have preferred to talk.
Doug Larson

I love when I get a reminder that I have two ears and one mouth, perhaps I should use them in that proportion. Those of you who know me can attest, I LOVE to talk, it’s the listening part that I consistently need to work on.

A week of training in Utah with 9 other sales guys made for one intense week. At first it was all about just being me. Then it turned into making sure they knew who was the best. And finally I came to realize it was not so much what I could get out of the situation, but what I could bring to it.

Trusting God is not easy when you are asked…well…told you are sharing a room with someone else for a week of training. Long days and even longer work nights wore down every last fiber I had of tolerance and love for my fellow man.

But I just kept asking myself, ‘what does God want me to learn from this experience?’ And every time the answer was, just stay present, don’t worry about the lesson you’ll get down the line. And that’s a challenge for me. I like to know what the result of the situation is going to be before I’m willing to start it. Well, at least in the past. I’m beginning to understand a little better what it truly means to trust God, and just do the action step right in front of me.

When I was getting worn down this week, I wanted to blame my lack of sharpness on everything and everyone else. The easiest thing for me to do was to shut everyone else out, clamining it was their bad habits that was bringing down my performance. It was laughable when I finally realized it.

The truth is, I was learning more from my teammates than I cared to admit. As if their success was going to take away from my opportunity. Sometimes a tired, uncentered mind of mine can play tricks on me. And when I get a call that instead of flying out next week, I’m on a plane tomorrow morning, I could see how a better attitude lined things up in the Universe for me to not have time to allow that moss to gather on stone that wasn’t rolling.

It feels great to be back in the swing of working. The exhaustion I feel is minimized by the energy I’m gaining from this new experience.

Just for today I will look for opportunities to listen and take advantage of allowing God to set the path before me.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Two Ears

  1. Debe says:

    You listening? I believe WE HAVE HAD that discussion previously!! Those “discussions” gave me an insight that I would have been unable to obtain had I not LISTENED. (Not an enjoyable experience!)
    You are going to do well. You have the knowledge and charisma to “make it work’!
    “Let it happen”!! And please don’t forget to absorb the lessons you are learning. You never know when you may need them!
    Sending love and prayers.

  2. Jeffer says:

    Two Ears
    Wisdom is the reward you get for a lifetime of listening when you’d have preferred to talk.
    Doug Larson … Great thought.

    It was in an upper-level English class- Can’t remember who was being quoted- but I have never forgotten the gist of it-

    “There two definite ways to be a “bore”- The first is to assume that what you have to say (or retort) to someone else, is more important than what they may have. The second is to do nothing but passively listen, not with real interest in what is being said, even if their comment seems mundane. Either way, it makes the active pursuit of enjoyable conversation, or even respectful exchange- impossible. Both are just – sleep inducing noise”. Maybe Alexander Pope- one of my favorite English Poets/Writers- But I can’t find the quote.

    Similar to- 1980s-“We were never being boring- ‘Cause we were never being bored”.- Pet Shop Boys. Doesn’t mean I am prone to ramble with what I think is sage wisdom, “a bit” too long. I think you are aware of that. Helps if all mouths can be used too. Even if briefly.

    Looking at your post this week as contrasted to your angst and introspection about your new path in last week’s episode, is very inspiring. You were doing your damndest to just keep quiet and not grandstand as the “brightest one in the training group”.

    But, as usual your main goal was to be tuned-in to and trust God. Even when it was painful. So you did.

    This week ,despite your vows of silence, or biting your tongue or “shutting others out”- He must have prompted you to do at least a bit of “making sure they knew who was the best”. At the right moments. Not all boastfully- The good aspects of your unique knowledge and abilities must have been heard and felt by those who could hear. And do something about it. Glad you are working too!

    When we are ignored, as we speak, we really feel discounted, treated as “ditsy” or less valuable than those who are ignoring us. Makes us want to “tune out”. When we actually find the right time, to contribute the right point or needed concept- The very process of being “listened to”, pulls out the best in our creative drives and lets and actually share more of our gifts and expand on them, even if briefly. God must have kept your heart open to do this. If so, major good will come to you.

    Maybe that is why you are flying-out before you were supposed to. Hmmm. Could be a good thing.

    Thanks,
    Jeff Lund

  3. Jeffer says:

    Two Ears
    Posted on April 5, 2013
    Wisdom is the reward you get for a lifetime of listening when you’d have preferred to talk.
    Doug Larson … Great thought.

    It was in an upper-level English class- Can’t remember who was being quoted- But I have never forgotten the concept-
    “There two definite ways to be a “bore”- The first is to assume that what you have to say (or retort) to someone else, is more important than what they may ton say. The second is to do nothing but passively listen, not with real interest in what is being said, even if their comment seems mundane. (“Nice weather today”- Uh- yeah really is “Either way, it makes the active pursuit of enjoyable conversation, or even respectful exchange- impossible. Both are just- become sleep-inducing utterances”. (Maybe Alexander Pope- one of my favorite English writers- But I can’t find the quote).

    Similar to- “We were never being boring- ‘Cause we were never being bored”.- Pet Shop Boys. Doesn’t mean I am good at not being prone to “ramble” with what I think is sage wisdom. I think you are aware of that. Also, it helps if helps if both mouths can be used at least half as much as the ears are for listening.

    Looking at Greg’s post this week, as contrasted to your angst and introspection about your new path in last week’ss hare, is very inspiring. You were doing your damndest to just keep quiet and not grandstand as the “brightest one in the training group”.

    But, as usual your main goal was to be tuned-in to and trust God. Even when it was painful. So you did.

    This week ,despite your vows of silence, or biting your tongue or “shut them out”, God must have prompted you to a bit of “making sure they knew who was the best”. At the right moments. Not boastfully- But the good aspects of your unique knowledge and abilities just might have been heard and felt by those who could hear.

    When we are ignored, as we speak, we really feel discounted, treated as “ditsy” or less valuable than those who are ignoring us. Makes us want to “tune out”. When we actually find the right time, to contribute the right point or needed concept- The very process of being “listened to”, pulls out the best in our creative drives and lets and actually share more of our gifts and expand on them, even if briefly. God must have kept your heart open to do this.

    Maybe that is why you are flying-out to your next places, before you were supposed to. Hmmm. Could be a good thing.
    Good for You,
    Jeff Lund

  4. Jeffer says:

    Hmmm. Errata- Seeing double- DELETE THE 1ST submit- and KEEP the 2nd one- If you can.
    AND and change typo in Para 4- (“last “weeksss’ hare” ???) – “to last’ week’s episode,”…is very inspiring.” Not sure if this is being drected to a real personi.e, Greg or a “robot” blog editor… : ) Tnks Jeff – Hope your adventure this coming week are exciting and positive.

Leave a Reply

