On Your Mark…Get Set…

“Character is the ability to carry out a good resolution long after the excitement of the moment has passed.”
—Cavett Robert

My first day of work yesterday was filled with anticipation and excitement. It was time to start making my mark with a new company. All systems were go, an 8:00 a.m. training session and I was ready.

Thirty minutes into my new day, my new job, I was informed I couldn’t do any of the at-home training modules until my equipment was delivered. Ok, no problem, there was still plenty of other tasks I needed to complete, including mailing in the mountain of HR paperwork, picking up my car, and reviewing notes that a pharmacist friend was kind enough to share.

The afternoon came and went, but no package from UPS or FEDEX. My journey would wait for another day.

The strange thing, at least odd for me, was that I simply accepted this was something out of my control. I am in a great place of eager anticipation, and patiently waiting for something that I can’t make happen. I suppose this is what it feels like when you are in complete acceptance. For me not to worry about getting ahead, or when the materials will come, when the training in New York will happen, what week I will be able to co-travel with a colleague, and ultimately when I am let loose to start kicking butt in the field, is a truly new concept. And I kinda like it!!

So I asked myself yesterday, ‘am I doing everything that I can with the resources at hand.’ The answer was a resounding yes. This was simply my way of keeping me accountable, which is a key when you home office.

The drive and desire to get out there and prove my worth is still strong, but my patience and willingness to accept the situation exactly as it is without judgment is refreshing and calming. All that work the past six months is paying off, and I am very grateful for that.

Just for today I will remain anxiously patient for the next piece of the puzzle to unfold, in God’s time.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to On Your Mark…Get Set…

  1. Debe says:

    You’re progress is exciting. I hope you continue “keeping things in perspective”!!

  2. Welcome to your next life chapter. 🙂

Leave a Reply

