Gentlemen, Start Your Engines

“The opposite of talking isn’t listening. The opposite of talking is waiting.”
—Fran Lebowitz

I’m not the most patient person in the world. I like for things to happen, preferably on my time, and my way. That’s not how God sees things and the sooner I learn to appreciate that, the more content my life will be.

There’s only so much time I can spend in my home office studying material before the anxious bug bites me and I want to get out in the field. I’m chomping at the bit to put this new-found knowledge into practice with my Rolodex of contacts. But I do understand that knowing a product on paper and being able to detail a doctor on it are two very different things.

I patiently waited all day Monday for my marching orders, but alas, they did not come. By Tuesday afternoon I was raring to go, but nothing…until 4:00 pm and the magical email came through: Austin next week, Detroit the week after that, training in Phoenix the following week and on my own September 9th. I was elated.

The best part about being patient is you learn to see things from a new perspective. Sure, all this information could have come last week, but did that really matter? I would have studied just the same, been digesting all this new information at the same pace, and perhaps, had I been in possession of the timeline, I would have put even more pressure on myself during the period of Home Study.

So perhaps this whole experience has been God’s way of showing me the value of balance in my life. I don’t have to know all the answers, just be seeking to align my will with that of God’s. All will be revealed in due time, so my job is to do the next indicated thing and wait for the path to unfold. Plus, where’s the mystery and surprise in life if I already know what’s to happen?

So the stage is set, my orders are in, and I see the path set before me. The rest is left up to me, well, at least the footwork. I learned a long time ago that I’m not in the results business. That’s left to the Omnipotent One, not me.

Just for today I will appreciate those moments when the Path isn’t clear yet I take action anyway.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Gentlemen, Start Your Engines

  1. Debe says:

    There is a lot of preparation before “Gentlemen, start your engines”, on many different levels
    One of my favorite scriptures is Psalm 46:10, “Be still and know that I am God”.
    I also lean towards impatience on many occasions. I find Ecclesiastes 3:1-10 (a little added to “Turn, turn, turn”), to provide some solace.
    Results/consequences of YOUR actions, many times provide experiences that teach you valuable lessons.
    Flip Wilson’s Geraldine is the funniest “cop out” I’ve heard with, “The devil made me do it!!”

Leave a Reply

