What You See

“Human self-understanding changes with time, and so also human consciousness deepens.”
—Pope Francis

It’s hard for me to say, but yes, it’s true…I’m selfish and self-centered and think the world should revolve around me. That’s not to say that I have moments of being selfless and being of service, but I have generally gone about in life thinking that I get the short end of the stick.

My perception of reality can be a bit skewed at times. I tend to compare my insides (the way I feel about myself and situations), with other people’s outsides (they way they appear to me). I realize intellectually that this is a foolish way to live, and truthfully, I don’t wish to live this way. It really is the programming that is hard-wired in me.

My goal is to re-work some of the wiring that no longer serves me.

What that means is that I need to be diligent at all times when I find myself comparing, whether that’s driving on the road, in the supermarket, or at a sporting event. When I judge, it is more a reflection of my inadequacies than it is of the target of my criticism.

But isn’t that the way the world seems to work sometimes. Everyone cutting everyone else down thinking it makes them bigger, taller or stronger for some reason. We get inundated with it on social media, on the television, and seemingly everywhere we look.

This isn’t an excuse, it’s just a reality.

So I am determined to not feed into this negativity vortex, but rather spend my time looking for and finding the good in situations. Whether it is right there on the surface or buried deep; apparent to the naked eye or perhaps an appreciation for a lesson learned through a tragic event.

Now don’t get me wrong, I’m not talking about some Pollyanna view of the world I will have after putting on a pair of rose-colored glasses. Not by a long shot. But rather seeking the good, looking for a takeaway that can benefit me and my environment, and when it isn’t present, being prepared to walk away.

God is everywhere, at all times, sending out his frequency; it’s my job to tune into the right station. (Thanks Pastor James)

Just for today I will tune in to God’s voice by getting quiet and allowing his whisper to get stronger in my life.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to What You See

  1. Debe says:

    The “re-wire” is a long involved process. It didn’t happen in a short time & isn’t going to be repaired in a short time. Good Luck with that!
    We are indeed inundated with take care of #1! I’ve found that taking apart why I feel the way I do makes not being “self-centered” much easier. “I’ve deal with worse than this, and came out fine!”
    Good Luck!!

Leave a Reply

