Two Ears, One Mouth

“It’s better to keep your mouth shut and appear stupid than open it and remove all doubt”
—Mark Twain

I love that I am self-aware, for the most part, and am able to see a situation from outside myself at times. Case in point, having lunch with a doc today and he wanted to talk, and talk, and talk, so I let him. Normally, I would have tried to out-talk him or dominate the conversation, but by letting him speak his mind, I’m sure he came out of the meeting feeling good about it.

But here’s the rub, I’m a salesperson. We are trained to always control the flow of conversation, ensure you hit all the talking points, make clear from the beginning what you are hoping to accomplish.

You know what? Screw all that business, that’s how everyone else operates. And when I am in my comfort zone, I’m not allowing these ‘rules’ to dominate my thoughts. I shoot from the gut, and make sure that I allow the other person to feel like they’ve been heard.

Ironically, during that meeting today, the doc was the one who brought up my product line. He was sharing all kinds of information that usually takes half a dozen meetings and probing questions to pry from them. And the best part of all, he went back in his memory bank and connected how we first met years ago when I worked for another company.

He was showing that he already trusts me!!! And anyone in sales knows that people buy from people they trust.

So instead of putting my ‘sales hat’ on and spinning the conversation this way and that, I simply allowed two people to have a conversation over lunch. And it was refreshing. I got to know what makes him tick with respect to his practice, and he sold me to himself, so that was a bonus.

And the best part of all, when he was talking about another product that I have little knowledge in, rather than trying to sound educated and blabbing something out of my hind quarters, I simply listened and asked more questions to learn.

Now THAT ladies and gentlemen is progress.

Just for today I will be mindful when staying silent can be the more powerful thing to do.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Two Ears, One Mouth

  1. Debe says:

    What a blessing you are to the sales world! Letting people feel like you care about them as a person. This doctor needed you and there you were there. You’ve made an impression that will forgive “human error” in many instances!

Leave a Reply

