Here We Grow Again

“Take the first step in faith. You don’t have to see the whole staircase, just take the first step.”
—Martin Luther King, Jr.

I have never liked the feeling of not being in the know. For so many years my life was fragile, being balanced on a mountain of insecurity and addiction, keeping me from venturing out of situations that I felt I had some control over and there was a clear expectation of the outcome.

But living in fear of being vulnerable only closes me off from new experiences and learning new things.

Sometimes I wonder where the illogical aspects of my mind come from. There are times when I am an avid reader, committed to learning anew and putting into practice better habits to improve my life and level of happiness. But then somewhere along the way I slip out of the habit, and fall back into the malaise of television and justification for inactivity.

The good news is that I know how to break out of the slothful habit, and get back into the groove of things: one action at a time. I don’t have to be back up to full speed and clicking on all cylinders right away, I can take baby steps and make progress in the direction that I want to go.

So that is exactly what I did the past few nights. At the end of the day, rather than numbing out to the TV in bed until my eyes were half-shut, I opened a book that stayed dormant for over a month. And what do you know, last night I turned off the TV in the family room and read in there as well.

Just one small step in the direction that I want to go.

The same is true in my job. If you are in sales that have a long sales cycle, there are many days you have to look for the small victories, and know whether or not you are moving the needle in the direction of a sale. Some days it’s easier to see than others. And in the end, there is no guarantee of anything, same is true in life. Just because I read a book on how to be more confident doesn’t guarantee that I will become confident. But if I pick up the tools (reading the book), and take action (do the exercises), and commit to the process (insert into my everyday life), then chances are, some good results will happen.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

