Such a Dreamer

“Faith is a living, daring confidence in God’s grace, so sure and certain that a man could stake his life on it a thousand times.”
—Martin Luther

What a wonderful gift to have a partner that has a strong faith and knows that we are under God’s protection and care. When I flounder with some difficult news, he’s right there to remind me of my truth, and help me to strengthen my faith.

For so long I thought that I wanted a partner in life based on material and external characteristics. I dreamed of the buff husband with a great job, unlimited wealth, luxurious vacations, enormous diamonds and days filled with nothing but happiness and contentment.

But then I woke up to reality. That’s not what I wanted at all.

What I really wanted was someone to walk with me through the challenges that make me grow stronger and expand my compassion, love, and wisdom. I wanted someone with a deep faith that was unshakable, even during the most trying hours. And I wanted someone to model a manner of giving selflessly and unconditionally to express his love for me.

And that is exactly what I got. Not my dream man, but my life partner, who challenges me to grow in the tough times and give even more from the blessings that have been given to us.

Nowhere was that more apparent than this past week as the highs and lows of the life of a salesman were wildly showing its peaks and valleys. Through it all, he stayed steady, keeping me grounded when elation was the mode of the day, and comforting and exuding peace during the tumultuous valleys.

So I guess you could say I did meet my dream partner. And once again God has shown that He knows better what I need than I do, and is more than willing to offer it into my life as a blessing, regardless of what list for Santa Claus my prayers may take on.

Another example of the grace I have been given in my life. And for that, I am deeply grateful.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

