Ground Control to Major Tom

“My friends will help me stay grounded, and so will my family.“
—Rowan Blanchard

As hard as it is for me to admit this, when I start to have success, I tend to start acting with a sense of entitlement. I get the don’t-you-know-who-I-think-I-am attitude. Today, I am grateful that I am aware of my tendency and can make a different choice.

Along with landing a huge account in Las Vegas comes the demands on travel to be present for their needs. Last minute trips to cover cases early on in the relationship is essential to build confidence with them and strengthen the already great start.

With this drain on time and energy, it’s easy for me to try and elicit pity from my colleagues. As if they aren’t working just as hard as I am to help build success with our new launch into the U.S. I was gently reminded of that by one such colleague today when she said, “I’d be happy to take that account off your hands for you.“

BAM!!! Right between the eyes!

Talk about gaining some perspective mighty quick!!!

But the beauty of it is, I don’t have to hold a resentment against her, and I don’t have to go into a shame spiral for my behavior. I can simply acknowledge the gift that was her comment to help me remain grounded. And what do you know, after realizing this soon after our conversation, I reached out to her and offered to meet up prior to our pre-show meeting to just catch up. Truth be told, I am going to practice my listening skills and being supportive. Something that often falls by the wayside when I am speaking with colleagues.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

