I Promise

“Freedom is not the absence of commitments, but the ability to choose – and commit myself to – what is best for me.”
― Paulo Coelho

There are times in life that God calls us to step outside of our comfort zone and embrace the challenge of growth. More often than not I heed the call, usually after a few slaps upside the head by the virtual two by four, but heed nonetheless. The great news for me is that I can build on past experience with these opportunities for growth, and don’t have to start from the place of blind faith which was required of me in the beginning of my spiritual journey.

I find lately that my patience is not what it could be. More often than not, when I take an honest and objective look at the root cause of my disturbance, it has more to do with a decision that I have made, more than the outside agitator of the situation.

I have been on ‘vacation‘ this week, and yes, the quotes are intentional. Rather than excusing myself from checking email and engaging my sales reps, I am choosing to continue to be connected. I’m not sure if it has to do with the fear of ‘missing out‘ on something or the newness of my current position, but my ability to disengage has been difficult.

So when I get contacted by one of my sales reps asking about a year-end deal, and I choose to engage, I get frustrated. But the frustration shouldn’t be directed at them, but rather at myself. I am the one choosing to not honor my vacation time. I am the one not allowing myself to relax and recharge. I am the one who can’t give up the reins of control.

PHEW!! That felt really good telling on myself just now.

Isn’t that what growth is all about? Recognizing the behavior that I wish to change, and commiting to make that change a reality.

Now the trick is to not feel guilty for keeping my commitment…to myself…for the betterment of all involved.

Just for today I will honor my vacation!!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

