On The Edge

“Life begins at the end of your comfort zone.”
–Neale Donald Walsch

I never wanted to eat my vegetables as a kid. I really don’t care for doing cardio. Sitting in my recliner with remote in hand sounds like a perfect day. Then again, what is best for me isn’t always what I prefer to do.

I don’t know if it’s just me, but don’t you find that the things in life that are ‘good for you’, aren’t necessarily the first thing that comes to mind? Yet ultimately, these very things end of being just what the doctor ordered.

Recently my fiancé and I were driving past Tempe Town Lake. When he mentioned it would be nice to take Nelson, our pup, there before the weather got too warm (sorry to say that to all you folks freezing in the North), I thought it sounded good, but really didn’t want to act on it. Yet not two days later, despite the call from the recliner to plop my butt down, get my thumb crunches in surfing channels with the remote, I chose to offer up the trip after getting my taxes done.

So why is it that I make such a big deal out of something as simple as going for a walk with my partner and pup? I got some fresh air. The walk fired some endorphins so I felt good after.

Bottom line, I like the familiar, even if it’s not what is truly in my best interest.

The same thing happened at church last Sunday. When I was president of the congregation, I felt a sense of obligation to mingle before worship, press the flesh, and say hello to people. Now that I don’t ‘have’ to do that anymore, I find that I actually like it. I enjoy the interaction, the smiles, the hugs, and the way I feel after: connected, loved, a part of.

So it got me to thinking: what else do I avoid from fear of the unknown. Perhaps that is a bit dramatic. Let me rephrase: what else do I not do because it isn’t familiar?

Getting outside my comfort zone is where growth lays. So if I want to grow, expand my horizons, and feel connected to the world and my fellows, I need to choose more often to do what is not familiar. Who knows, I might surprise myself and even like it a bit.

Just for today I will be unafraid of the unfamiliar.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

